LEWIS & CLARK DEMOCRATIC CENTRAL COMMITTEE LCCDCC May 16, 2023 in person and via ZOOM COUNTY OFFICERS' CONVENTION

Follow us on Facebook and the web http://www.lccdemocrats.com

Call to Order and Introductions:

 Chair Jacob Torgerson called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM at the Lewis and Clark Library and via Zoom, welcomed all, and asked for introductions. In attendance (by sign-in sheet and Zoom identification): Vice Chair Shani Henry, Monica and Robert Abbott, Trent Bolger, Thai Nguyen, Tonia Bossell, Sen. Mary Ann Dunwell, Joe Cohenour, Mark and Carole Mackin, Moffie Funk, Jakob Miles, John Driscoll, Bob Schmitt, Jan Clinard, Leonard Bates, Sheena Wilson, Ciara Maxwell, Michael Bayuk, Isaac Nehring, and Jeff Buscher.

Description and Rules of County Convention: Trent Bolger

- Trent Bolger (veteran organizer of state Democratic conventions) agreed to chair the county
 officers' convention. He called the role of eligible voters (precinct representatives and current
 officers). Trent introduced the current officers, and reviewed the duties of the positions. Those
 elected will serve a two-year term.
- **Trent** explained that by Montana Democratic Party rules ("Bylaws"), Chair and Vice Chair must have different gender identities. The Chair, Vice Chair, and two State Committee Representatives (of different gender identities), or their alternates, are eligible to vote at state party conventions. Voting was by show of hands (no secret ballot) and proxy voting was not permitted. If more than two candidates, the winner must receive 50% of the votes plus one. If necessary, a second round of voting (dropping the candidate receiving the fewest votes in the first round) would occur.
- Any Lewis and Clark County Democrat (and registered voter) may run for office, or nominate a candidate. Voting was by show of hands (in person and Zoom).

Election of Officers:

- Jacob Torgerson nominated Jakob Miles for Chair, seconded by Mark. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Jakob Miles was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded by Thai and Tonia. Jakob thanked the group. He is excited to work with everyone to continue Central Committee activism because there is still more to do.
- Trent noted that since Jakob identifies as he/ him, candidates for Vice Chair must have a different gender identity. Jakob Torgerson nominated Shani Henry (she/ her) for re-election as Vice Chair, and the nomination was seconded. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Shani was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded. Shani thanked the group and resolved to work very hard to increase engagement and reach our exciting goals.
- Jakob Miles nominated Thai Nguyen (he/ they) as State Committee representative, seconded by Mark. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Thai was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded.
- Michael Bayuk nominated Jan Clinard (she/ her) as State Committee representative, and the nomination was seconded. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Jan was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded.
- Shani Henry nominated Ben Kuiper (he/him) as Alternate State Committee representative, and the nomination was seconded. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Ben was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded.
- Monica Abbott nominated by Moffie Funk (she/her) as Alternate State Committee representative, and the nomination was seconded. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Moffie was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded.

LCCDCC May 16, 2023

Page 2

- Senator Dunwell nominated Sheena Wilson (she/ her) as 2nd Alternate State Committee Representative, and the nomination was seconded. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Sheena was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded.
- Shani Henry nominated Mark Mackin (he/ him) as 2nd Alternate State Committee Representative, and the nomination was seconded. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Mark was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded.
- Senator Dunwell nominated Ciara Maxwell as Treasurer, seconded by Mark. After repeated calls for any further nominations, Ciara was elected by acclamation as moved and seconded. To clarify for banking purposes, Ciara will be given access to the LCCDCC bank account, along with new Chair (and outgoing Treasurer) Jakob Miles.
- Long-time Secretary Linda Beischel stated that she was not running for re-election. After repeated calls for nominations (with none received), Chair Jakob Miles appointed Linda as secretary pro-tem until a special election could be held at the June monthly meeting. (UPDATE: Bob Schmitt was elected Secretary by acclamation on June 20, 2023).
- The County Convention was completed and the Chair thanked **Trent** for his assistance.

Executive Board Report:

 Jacob Torgerson, outgoing Chair, thanked the group for the great honor of his term and expressed pride in Central Committee accomplishments. Jacob noted that he organized 30,000 door knocks for the 2022 coordinated campaign. Jacob congratulated the new executive board. He emphasized that election of more Montana Democrats in the future will depend on Helena area voters and candidates.

Candidate report:

• **Trent** noted that **Kev Hamm** has declared his candidacy for U.S. Congress in the Eastern District (see https://kevinhamm.com/). NOTE: Central Committees do not endorse primary candidates.

Upcoming Events: Shani Henry

- Two representatives of our Central Committee attended a Jefferson County CC event recently.
 Shani and others will attend a three-county Democratic banquet in Deer Lodge on May 20, organized by Jesse Mullen of Powell County Dems.
- A central committee working group meets on Tuesdays (other than the 3rd Tuesday) to organize and plan future events. (All are welcome). Projects include ordering CC caps and T-shirts.
- On Tuesday May 23, there will be a webinar and training on outreach to rural voters.
- On June 9, LCCDCC volunteers will participate in a "Day of Service" with United Way.
- Voter file (VAN) training will be organized as a service to candidates. Recruitment of candidates, precinct representatives, and campaign volunteers will be a priority.

Monthly meeting Venue(s):

• The library meeting room will no longer be available on 3rd Tuesdays. On June 20, a previously planned "Celebrate Sine Die" event to thank legislators and allies will be at Brothers Confluence Tapworks at 7 PM. (Following a brief business meeting deciding the July meeting location).

April minutes were submitted to the <u>website</u>. There was no Treasurer's report this month. The meeting was adjourned with the Chair's thanks at 7:45 PM.

Next meeting THIRD TUESDAY June 20, 2023 in person (no Zoom) at 7 PM. Respectfully submitted, Linda Beischel, Secretary (pro tem).